COD Winners for 2019

Welcome to the 2019 COD Award Online Showcase

Massachusetts Colleges Online (MCO) created the Courses of Distinction Awards to recognize faculty whose course designs best exemplifies online education’s potential to enhance teaching and learning. In addition to honoring faculty for their efforts, the COD Awards and the faculty showcases of the COD courses have become an important focus of the MCO annual Sharing Best Practices in e-Learning Conference.

Each MCO institution may nominate an online and/or second course designated by the institution as a blended course. Although definitions may vary, a blended course combines face-to-face interaction such as in-class discussions, active group work, and live lectures with typically web-based educational technologies such as online course cartridges, assignments, discussion boards, and other web-assisted learning tools. For purposes of the COD nominations a course is considered as blended if 30 – 79 percent of the content is delivered online.

Schedule Information

2019 COD Presentation Schedule

Congratulations! 2019 Courses of Distinction

MCO member institutions can nominate online and blended courses that demonstrate high quality or innovative design. Please see the Courses of Distinction presentation track to find out when faculty will showcase their courses. You can also watch video tours for some of the courses here, we expect more to be posted after the conference.

Photo Gallery

Click Here for 2019 Photo Gallery

COD Winners Video tours

If the COD Winner has a * a start after their name, click on the name of the COD winner you can watch video tour of their course.

Winners List: 

Online Courses-

Barbara Kotelnicki
Berkshire Community College

Jeanne Carey Ingle 
Bridgewater State University

Rosario Basay
Bristol Community College

Mark Popeney 
Bunker Hill Community College

Fausta Boscacci 
Framingham State University

Elizabeth Butin 
Holyoke Community College

Maryann Schroder
Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts

Matthew Walsh
Massachusetts Bay Community College

Alex Cotter
Massasoit Community College

Aisha Arroyo
Middlesex Community College

Jesse Johnson 
Westfield State University

Syamak Moattari
Worcester State University

Hybrid Courses

Stacy Evans
Berkshire Community College

April Megginson 
Bridgewater State University

Scott Nolan
Bristol Community College

Tricia Kiefer 
Holyoke Community College

Beth Kelley 
Middlesex Community College

Pat Demers
Northern Essex Community College

Nikolaus Sucher
Roxbury Community College

Barbara Keim 
Westfield State University

Tona Hangen 
Worcester State University

Previous Winners